What I should have told every man I ever dated…

I’m sorry.

Don’t be stupid. Don’t play games.

No, we won’t end up being “friends.”

Thank you for reminding me that I’m beautiful.

Diamonds are dumb, romantic gestures are not.

I’m not very good at cuddling.

I don’t want to just be an extension of you or “arm candy”, I want to be a unique and whole human being who is encouraged to be a better person by being with you.

Excite me. Surprise me. Whisk me away.

Thank you for teaching me about relationships. For showing me that it’s okay to be vulnerable. Thank you for loving me even when I didn’t know what love was.

Be passionate about something. Anything.

It really is about the simple things. The small notes, cute texts, “just because” flowers.

Money doesn’t buy happiness. It also doesn’t buy me.

No, I wasn’t joking when I said I was waiting until marriage. Oh, you’re sexually frustrated? Try waiting for 27 years…

One thought on “What I should have told every man I ever dated…

  1. I agree with a lot of this… except the whole “diamonds are dumb” thing… I certainly didn’t think they were dumb when a man who had made plenty of sincere, romantic, gestures to me over the course of our relationship presented me with one.

Leave a Reply

