You’re so vain…

… I bet you think this blog is about you. Don’t you?

Vanity. I’ve been thinking about this word a lot lately.

vanity

The idea of “beauty” is consistently thrust down the throats of men and women, starting from a very young age.

I am 26 years old and I have a counter top full of anti-aging face lotions, serums, and beauty products. That’s insane! It made me think, when did this obsession with self-appearance begin?

I suppose it started when I realized my looks, and my looks alone, would appropriately place me into some popularity-based hierarchy in school. I was uncomfortable in my own skin for quite some time, and didn’t consider myself “beautiful” just because I didn’t fit into the per-determined mold of prettiness. Now, I embrace those things that make me an outlier. I love my freckles and wild curly hair, and I am confident. But there is always something the cosmetic industry is telling me I need to “fix” and it’s easy to believe them.

What would happen if I didn’t wear foundation for a week?

No, I don’t cake it on. Yes, I have imperfections.

How do you embrace your God-given beauty along with your “flaws?”

Should they even be called “flaws?”

How do I cast out the idea that I need to look perfect all the time?

I don’t want to be That Girl that wears make-up to the gym.

What is my idea of beauty?

Is it purely physical or does it radiates from the inside out?

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com)
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com)
Leave a Reply

