More presents, please.

I’m not very happy with my new-found Love Language

(www.5lovelanguages.com)

Apparently, I really like presents and am not particularly fond of being touched.

A boyfriend’s worst nightmare?

I know, I know, it seems greedy and selfish. But it works both ways. I LOVE giving people presents. I love making things for people. I love seeing their happy, smiling, shrieking faces. And I like that feeling too.

I feel valued and appreciated not by how much money someone spends– it can be free, or whittled, or bartered for by using a single piece of gum– but by the fact that I know they thought of me and took the time to go out of their way. I think this love language of mine stems from the fact that I, along with flocks of other females, have been witness to ‘all talk and no action.’ What you do means more to me than what you say. Yes, I like hearing that you care about me, but my heart will melt if you show it. Most women love gifts for no reason (go stealthily pick some flowers out of your neighbor’s garden). Most women love to be surprised (pick a day and plan a date).

This is what 5lovelanguages.com has to say about it:

Receiving Gifts

Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures.

Anyone who knows me would tell you I would take some quirky yard sale trinket over that meaningless Blue Box stuffed with diamonds any day.

I know this works both ways. I don’t expect men to do all the romancing, but in my eyes, it is their job to get it started. But it’s everyone’s job to say what it is that makes them feel loved. A Gift Receiver will not typically light up when they get a hug. Just as a Physical Touch person would rather have you sit right next to them than sit across the table shouting sweet nothings.

I highly encourage you all to take the assessment by clicking here.

For me, I hope it will encourage honest and open communication with my bf and lead us to understanding what makes the other person feel valued…

Oh… and more gifts.

(www.craftjenny.com)
Leave a Reply

