I have a boyfriend.

True story. And that phrase has only been uttered truthfully during the three different serious relationships I’ve had thus far. (The “I have a boyfriend” line doesn’t count when trying to ward off creepy guys in an ass-packed pub.)

Soooooo, let’s rewind a little bit here and get you all up to date…

Step 1: I need you to read my last post: Fairytale Complex.

Step 2: Re-read the title of this post and realize that I am, in fact, not lying even though many of you may find this hard to believe.

Step 3: Quick re-cap, because I know most of my lazy readers skipped step 1. Mr. Nice Guy and I became friends in Jan. He told me he liked me, I said no thanks. Then a couple months ago, much to my disbelief, I realized that I liked him back. Alas, at this point he had come to the conclusion that we were just bffs.

But then I stepped up my game and did something I have never (ever) done before in my life.

I told him I liked him. In the middle of a crowded dance floor. Three beers deep.

Me: I have to tell you something…

Mr. Nice Guy: What?

Me: No, I can’t. This is awkward.

Mr. NG: Oh, c’mon

Me: Ah! This probably isn’t the right place, but…. I, I like you as more than a friend.

Mr. NG: Awwww.

Me: Aww? This is a first for me, I don’t do this with guys. You gotta’ say something more than “awww”!

Mr. NG: You know I’ve liked you as more than a friend this whole time.

Me: I know. I’m sorry it took me this long to come around.

Mr. NG: Well, I’m sorry for flirting with that girl at the bar just now.

So how did I come to the conclusion that I liked Mr. Nice Guy?

Well, it was shortly after he brought around Girlfriend #2 and I had gone on Date #2 with Grammar Guy.  I hated seeing him with GF #2 (I use girlfriend loosely. I’m not a home-wrecker). And my dates with Grammar Guy weren’t bad but it took a turn for the worse when he corrected my grammar during dinner. Bad etiquette. But apparently my “plural verb didn’t match the singular subject.” Really?

So.. Mr. NG and I have been dating for something like a month or two now. I had an epiphany when I was describing to my sister that this relationship was unlike any I had been in before. I realized it’s because there was no game playing. I said I liked him, he liked me back, so we started dating. It was as easy as that. I can tell him anything and be my goofy self without fear that he’ll leave me just because I just laughed so hard I snorted.

This biggest difference though is that we both realize perfection is unattainable. I, for the first time, am not expecting a fairytale. I’m just expecting him to be the wonderful man I know he is… and take me on a date every now and then.

 

Leave a Reply

