Tonight, I gave my heart away.

I gave my heart to Italy tonight, atop the Piazzale Michelangelo. The sun was falling asleep behing the horizon as I lay on the concrete steps at the top of a small mountain overlooking all of Florence, with a cold Peroni in hand. Suddenly the passionate sounds of an acoustic latin guitar glide through the warm night’s air, and that is when it happened…

I fell hard for this city. An undeniable love and an overwhelming feeling of gratitude. It took about a month for Italy to earn a permanent place in my heart, and yes, I know that sounds cheesy, but it’s true. I feel my perspective on life shifting here.

Right now, there is no where else I would rather be.

– – – – –

Blog to look forward to: “Boots, boys and beer.”

5 thoughts on “Tonight, I gave my heart away.

  1. Can’t wait to get to Italy! what did you like most about it? I am hoping to go soon but the vote from the group for the next vacation was a return to Mallorca!!! Maybe the next trip to Italy!

  2. Its stunning! So far my favorite part has been running up to the top of Piazalle Michelangelo. But when you do come, make sure you explore the beautiful areas outside the city center, like Fiesole πŸ™‚

  3. I had the same love affair with Firenze. There’s something about it that makes you want to be by her side. Wake up to her and watch her fall asleep. But I’ve learned though is that she’s a gold-digger; she’ll make you broke πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

