Foggy Firenze

It’s 5:32 P.M. in Firenze and a sticky rain is falling from the cloudy sky. I can hear the sound of pigeons cooing on the wet street below, heavy footsteps above our wooden ceiling.

 I woke up 2 hours ago. Yes, that means it was three in the afternoon. I’ve been having a hard time getting my body adjusted to Italian time.  This is my fourth day in my new apartment and on the 2nd day I had to hunt down a Farmacia to buy cold medicine and by today I have precisely ten, oh ouch!… make that eleven, massive mosquito bites. Our shower, refridgerator, and patio door are broken. Yet, I’m still in awe of the beauty surrounding me. I feel like I’m just on vacation.

 

It’s true, what they say about the men. The “Ciao Bellas” are never ceasing. The grimey men love us, the women hate us.  I dont blame the ladies though. If someone came to my town, not knowing enough of my native language to have a basic conversation, and running around like this is one big frat party, I would be frustrated too. However, most people here are very forgiving and helpful.

P.S. How the hell do I use a bidet???

Leave a Reply

