Closet Crazies

“I hope you don’t think this is too forward. But you’re really cute and I’d love to get your number and take you out sometime.”

That is definitely a step up from a text.

I was out in Pacific Beach when a tall blonde, with a skateboard under his arm, walked over to me and asked that question. I was flattered and a little taken aback by his politeness. It wasn’t love, or even lust, at first sight. But I figured I shouldn’t judge a skateboard covered book by its cover.

He texted that night.

He called the next day. And everyday after that for a week.

A tip for you gentlemen… women like the chase too. Acting overeager isn’t the way into a woman’s heart, that’s the way into a straight jacket and a blocked number.

Now before I go throwing around accusations of insanity, I’ll give you some more details. Aside from meeting him that one time, I haven’t seen him since. We chatted twice on the phone. The second convo goes as follows…

“I want you to know you’re not just some girl. I really like you. You’re beautiful and smart and super nice,” exclaims Skateboarder.

“Aw, thanks. You seem nice too, but we don’t really know each other yet.”

“I want to get to know you. You should come watch me play music on the beach tonight, on the sidewalk.”

Did I really just almost agree to a date with a well-dressed homeless boy?

Turns out, he just didn’t have any venue for his “band” to play, so they oftentimes have jam sessions out in public… encouraging donations.

Cute can sometimes equate to closet crazy.

Leave a Reply

